August 5, 2014

bigyan-academyOdisha Channel Bureau Bhubaneswar, August 5: Several eminent scientists were felicitated at the investiture ceremony of different awards of Odisha Bigyan Academy for the year 2012 at a grand function held at the Jayadav Bhavan auditorium here on Tuesday.The awards were presented by Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.Congratulating the scientists who were felicitated for their outstanding contribution to the cause of science and its popularization, the Chief expressed hope that their feats would sow the seeds of a new generation of scientific revolution by stimulating the young researchers and popularize the scientific achievements for the benefit of the common men.“Our academic and research institutions have to enhance their quality to match with the international standards.Our research programmes need to achieve a range of out-of-the-box solutions to combat the menaces of environmental pollution, energy crisis, water scarcity, global warming and climate change,” said Patnaik in his address.“I wish an annual conclave of scientists and technocrats be organized by Odisha Bigyan Academy in our State that would provide an excellent platform to the scientific fraternity including young scientists, school children, women scientists and traditional innovators of Odisha for deliberations and exchange of views on emerging issues of the state for sustainable development,” he added.Patnaik felicitated three eminent scientists of Odisha – Prof.Satyananda Acharya, Prof.Bhabendra Kumar Patnaik and Er.Govinda Chandra Sahu.He presented the Biju Patnaik Award for Scientific Excellence to Prof.Ganapati Panda and also presented the Samanta Chandra Sekhar Award to Dr.Birendra Kumar Mohapatra, Prof.Sushil Kumar Dutta, Prof.Sanghamitra Mohanty and Dr.Ajit Kumar Shasany.The Chief Minister also awarded Dr.(Ms.) Dipti Prakasini Das, Dr.Banikalyan Swain and Dr.(Mrs.) Punyapriya Mishra for Odisha Young Scientists Award and Dr.(Mrs.) Purabi Mohanty and Dr.(Mrs.) Jyotirmayee Mohanty were awarded as Pranakrushna Parija Popular Science Award on the occasion.

August 5, 2014 0 Comment

Breaking News: