May 29, 2014

With an eye on polls, the ruling Biju Janata Dal in Odisha has constituted yet another committee to woo the voters belonging to different walks of life.

The BJD announced formation of its Shramika Sampark Committee on Wednesday (July 31) after announcing formation of Yuba Sampark Committee on July 26 and the Krushi O Krushak Committee on July 21.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has formed these teams in his party to popularise the schemes that his government has started implementing for the benefit of the working class, the youth and the farmers.

According to the BJD, the Shramika Sampark Committee will have MLA Prafulla Kumar Mallick as chairman.It will have four members – Sanjeeb Kumar Pradhan, Samir Ranjan Das, Subash Gond and Subas Singh.

The Shramika Sampark Committee will create awareness among labour groups, associations, construction workers, Kendu leaf workers about the benefits extended to them by the BJD government, according to the party.

As regards the Yuba Sampark Committee, Ranendra Pratap Swain has been appointed as its chairman and the team has as many as nine members – Ashok Chandra Panda, Sidhanta Mohapatra, Dillip Tirkey, Rama Chandra Hansda, Pradeep Panigrahi, Pranab Prakash Das, Siddharth Sekhar Singh, Anubhab Mohanty and Arka Keshari Deo. The Committee will create awareness among the youth of the State about the State Youth Policy being implemented by the BJD government.

The Krushi O Krushak Committee is headed by former Minister Pradeep Maharathy.The Committee has eight members – Nrusingha Sahu, Debaraj Mohanty, Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak, Manohar Randhari, Pushpendra Singh Deo, Sushant Singh, Bhagirathi Sethi and Bijay Naik.

The Committee will take steps to popularise the initiatives taken by the BJD government for agriculture development and farmers’ welfare.It will also highlight the schemes that were being implemented for the benefit of the farmers under the new Agriculture Policy which the Chief Minister had unveiled a few months ago.

According to BJD sources, the party was likely to form more such committees to reach out to the people at large ahead of the forthcoming Lok Sabha and Assembly elections.

May 29, 2014 0 Comment

Breaking News: