June 8, 2014

Odisha Channel Bureau Bhubaneswar: As many as 12 Maoists who were active in Narayanpatna area of Koraput district of Odisha surrender before the police at Koraput on Sunday.According to Y.K.Jethwa, Inspector General of Police (South-Western Range), the Maoists who surrendered belonged to the Srikakulam-Koraput Divisional Committee under the Andhra-Odisha Border Special Zonal Committee of the Maoists.The police claimed that the Maoists had joined the Chasi Mulia Adivasi Sangha (CMAS), a tribal outfit fighting the land rights of the tribal people in Narayanpatna area, in 2009.They were later actively assisting spread of the Communist Party of India (Maoist) organisation and network in the area, police said.Jethwa informed that as many as 33 Maoists had surrendered since January this year and more were likely to surrender.The IGP urged the Maoists to shun violence and join the social mainstream.“Strong action will be taken as per law against those who continue Maoist association,” Jethwa said.

June 8, 2014 0 Comment

Breaking News: