December 16, 2014

naveen-patnaikOdisha Channel Bureau Bhubaneswar, Dec 16: In an endeavour to ensure delivery of more services to the people in a time bound manner, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today approved inclusion of 26 more services of three departments to Odisha Right to Public Services Act, 2012.As many as 63 different services across 10 different departments were brought under the Act that had come into force on January 1, 2013.The number of services brought under this law has increased to 89 with the inclusion of more services.Among the new 26 additions, 15 services are offered by Housing & Urban Development Department, eight are offered by Higher Education Department and three by Fisheries & Animal Resources Development Department.The Odisha Right to Public Services Act, 2012 in Odisha is an exemplary initiative by the State Government to check corruption in public service delivery.The law enables the citizens to demand public services as a right and also includes a provision for penal action against officials failing to provide the services within the stipulated time.The idea is to generate a demand for services, and to provide citizens with a platform for getting their grievances redressed in a time bound manner.

December 16, 2014 0 Comment