September 23, 2020

Odisha Channel Bureau
Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Electricity Regulatory Commission (OERC) on Wednesday ordered rise of 20 paise per unit in energy charge in case of most of the retail consumers except Kutir Jyoti (BPL consumers) and agricultural consumers. The order shall be effective in the State from October 1, 2020, it said.
The OERC said in its order that the average rise in retail supply tariff for 2020-21 is 3.90 % (annually) over 2019-20. There was no tariff rise from 2001-02 to 2009-10, 2014-15, 2016-17, 2018-19 and 2019-20.

The tariff rise during 2010-11, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2015-16 and 2017-18 were 22.20%, 19.74%, 11.84%, 2.40%, 4.64% & 1.44% respectively, the OERC said.

The OERC further said that there is no change in monthly minimum fixed charge (MMFC) and demand charge. There is no change in meter rent, it added.

The transmission tariff of OPTCL for FY 2019-20 shall remain unchanged for FY 2020-21 @ 25 paise per unit, said the OERC, while adding that there is a minimal change in cross subsidy surcharge for EHT & HT open access consumers.

The OERC said that 20% transmission and wheeling charge would be payable by the consumer drawing power from renewable source excluding co-generation and bio mass power plant.

The Commission has introduced special rebate for the following categories of consumers:
- A Reliability surcharge @ 10 paise per unit will continue only for HT consumers availing power irrespective of nature of feeder. This surcharge @ 10 paise per unit shall be charged if reliability index is more than 99% and above and voltage profile at consumer end remains within the stipulated limit.
- All the industrial consumers having CD of 1 MW and above and drawing power in 33 KV shall be allowed a rebate of 10 paise per unit for the units consumed in excess of 70% of load factor and up to 80% of load factor and 20 paise per unit for the units consumed in excess of 80% of the load factor per month. This shall be in addition to all other rebate the consumer is otherwise eligible.
- All the industrial consumers drawing power in EHT shall be eligible for a rebate of 10 paise per unit for all the units consumed in excess of 80% of load factor.
- 2% rebate over and above normal rebate shall be allowed on the bill to the LT domestic and single phase general purpose category of consumers only over and above all the rebates who pay through digital means. This rebate shall be applicable on the current month bill if paid in full.
- 2% rebate shall be allowed to all pre-paid consumers on pre-paid amount.
- Charging of electric vehicles shall be treated as GP category.
- The rural LT domestic consumers shall get 5 paise per unit rebate in addition to existing prompt payment rebate who draw their power through correct meter and pay the bill in time.

The OERC further said that GRIDCO will purchase 29018.76 MU power during FY 2020-21 and sale 28090 MU to DISCOMs and 60 MU to CGP. The average power purchase cost will be 278.57 paise per unit for FY 2020-21 as against 259.88 in FY 2019-20.

After revision of BSP for six months, there still a gap of Rs. 341.19 crore is allowed in GRIDCO’s ARR as against Rs.172.94 crores in 2019-20. The Commission has not allowed the fixed cost Rs.348.37 crores towards Central sector power.

The average annual bulk supply price is revised to 287.70 paise per unit for FY 2020-21 as against 270.47 paise per unit in FY 2019-20, the OERC said in its order.

September 23, 2020 0 Comment

Breaking News: