September 14, 2021

Odisha Channel Bureau
Bhubaneswar: Rugby India announced on September 14 that the Indian Junior Girls Rugby squad will participate in the Asia Rugby U18 Girls Rugby Sevens Championship 2021 which will be held in Tashkent, Uzbekistan on 18th & 19th September, 2021.

The team of 14 players and 5 officials (coaches, Physio and Manager) departed to Tashkent on Tuesday, 14th September 2021.

A total of five countries from across Asia including Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, United Arab Emirates (UAE), India and the host- Uzbekistan will vie for top honours at the championship.

The Indian National U18 Girls Rugby team is supported by Societe Generale (financial partners & official bank), Government of Odisha and Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology- KIIT (high performance partners), BLK (match kit partner), Fast & Up (nutrition partner), BLADE India and Abhinav Bindra Targeting Performance (ABTP) as associate partner.

Commenting on the occasion Vikram Ahuja, President, Rugby India said, “ We are thankful to Societe Generale, the Govt. of Odisha, KIIT and all our partners for their commitment and kind support towards Rugby India’s High Performance initiatives in preparation for the Asia Rugby Championship. The overall efforts, as envisioned by Rugby India aims to dedicate funds from all its sponsors to maximise player excellence: from the highest standard of coaching to world class strength and rehabilitation protocols, from nutrition and hydration to mental health.’

“Every Player will always remain at the heart of Indian Rugby. This support will truly boost our team’s morale and encourage them to perform fiercely at the Asian level and bring home accolades. We are confident that the U18 Girls team will deliver their best and make the country proud,” he further added.

A total of 52 girls from 13 States/UTs across India were shortlisted based on their performance at last Sub- Junior National Championships, National School Games Rugby Championships and their fitness and skill test results. These shortlisted girls attended the National training and selection camp which was conducted at the KIIT University campus in Bhubaneswar from 14th August to 13th September 2021.

The girls underwent rigorous training and upskilling sessions conducted by renowned coaches from South Africa namely Hendrik ‘Naas’ Botha (South Africa Rugby Legend & 4 times World Rugby player of the year), Ludwiche Van Deventer (Rugby Sevens Specialist), along with Indian Women’s Rugby Team captain Vahbiz Bharucha (mentor & official Physiotherapist for the Under 18 Girls rugby team).

The following 14 players (12 team +2 reserve) will represent the nation at the Asia Rugby Championship at Tashkent, Uzbekistan.

Sr. No Player’s Name State
1. Anshika Chauhan (Captain) Delhi
2. Nandini Delhi
3. Gomti Delhi
4. Chanel Crizzle Goa
5. Akanksha Anand Katkade Maharashtra
6. Vaishnavi Dattatray Patil Maharashtra
7. Lavanya Jagdish Adusumalli Maharashtra
8. Tarulata Naik Odisha
9. Mama Naik Odisha
10. Nirmalya Rout Odisha
11. Arti Kumari Bihar
12. Sapna Kumari Bihar
13. Nikita Oraon West Bengal
14. Sonali Oraon West Bengal

September 14, 2021 0 Comment